12th National voters Day observed at Udhampur

Publish Date : 26/01/2022

12th National voters Day observed at Udhampur
UDHAMPUR,JANUARY- 25: Like other parts of the country, 12th National Voter’s Day was celebrated on the theme ” Making Elections Inclusive, Accessible and Participative” an impressive programme was organized by District Administration Udhampur through virtual mode at Mini Conference Hall DC Office Complex Udhampur in which school College students and other dignitaries participated.
Earlier, Dy DEO, Dr Shavi, presented a welcome address and highlighted the importance of the National voter’s day. She said that the main objective of celebrating this day is to make the people aware about the significance of their vote in future strengthening the root of our democratic setup.
On this occasion, District Election Officer, Udhampur Indu Kanwal Chib also handed over EPIC cards among the first time voters. The District Election Officer also administered a pledge to all the participants to uphold the dignity of elections and vote in the elections without any fear, inducement or influence.
Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest said that the main objective of celebrating this day is to strengthen our democratic system by creating awareness among the young and future voters about the importance of their vote and hence involving their greater participation in the whole electoral system. Stressing on the enrollment and registration of all the eligible voters of the district, the DEO urged all the participants to generate awareness among all the eligible voters in their surroundings about the importance of their vote.
The DEO congratulates all the participants who participated online/ offline and appreciated the effort made by Election department. She said that a number of IT initiatives have been taken by Election Commission of India for the facilitation of voters.
Secretary DLSA, Rajni Sharma also participated through virtual mode and threw light on the importance of national voter’s day.
Among others, Additional District Development Commissioner, Kanta Devi, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Mohd Syed Khan, Chief Planning Officer, Mudassir Yaqoob Zargar, Assistant Commissioner Revenue, Viqar Giri, Assistant Commissioner Development, Mushtaq Choudhary and other officers/Officials were present.