Awareness Program on Legal Rights of Women held at Udhampur

Publish Date : 12/04/2022

Awareness Program on Legal Rights of Women held at Udhampur

UDHAMPUR, APRIL 11: The Committee Against Sexual Harassment (CASH) of Government College for Women Udhampur today organized an awareness Program on “Gender Inequality and Legal Rights of Women” in collaboration with Special cell for women and women Police station Udhampur, here in the college premises.

Incharge Principal of the College, Prof. Kewal Kumar was the chief guest on the occasion.

The event was organized by the collective efforts of CASH members, Dr Ashok Kumar, Prof.Tania Akhter and Prof.Yash Kumar.

Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest congratulated the organizers and applauded the CASH members for organizing such an eye opening event for the girl students.

The program started with the formal welcome address presented by Dr. Seema Sharma, Convener Committee Against Sexual Harassment and formally introduced the Resource Persons and other dignitaries. The Resource Person for the first session was Azara, Social Worker, Special cell for women Udhampur. In her address she talked about the opening of Special Cell and its Historical perspective. She also highlighted various laws, policies and regulations introduced specifically to meet the needs, which were so far denied to the women. She emphasized mainly on the concept of gender inequality and explained it with different case studies.

The second resource person of the first session was Jyoti from Mahila Shakti Kendera Udhampur. She spoke on the empowerment and status of women in the present scenario. She elaborated the various government schemes available for women. She also shared the Helpline Number with the audience. Second Session started with the talk of third resource person Afiya, Social Worker special cell for women Udhampur. She focused on legal rights of women and awared students about Zero FIR, Legal Services authority etc.

Likewise, one stop center also shared the type of service being provided by the center and shared her helpline number. The event concluded with an interactive and feedback session, in which students discussed different cases they witnessed around them.

The program ended with the formal vote of thanks presented by Prof. Sumita Rao.

Among others, Dr. Mool Raj, Dr Rajinder Singh, Prof. Yash Kumar, Prof. Pooja Bharti, Prof. Sanjay Kumar and Arun Gupta Librarian.