Newly appointed DCDRC takes Oath of office at Udhampur

Publish Date : 05/04/2022

Newly appointed DCDRC takes Oath of office at UdhampurNewly appointed DCDRC takes Oath of office at Udhampur

UDHAMPUR, APRIL-05:- The oath taking ceremony for newly appointed President and Member of District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (DCDRC) was held in the Mini Conference Hall DC Office Complex Udhampur, here today.

The oath of office and secrecy was administered by Deputy Commissioner, Udhampur Indu Kawal Chib.

Kishore Kumar (Rtd. District & Session Judge) took oath as President, District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission Udhampur and Sudesh Gupta (Rtd. Managing Director, JKRTC) took oath as member of the DCDRC Udhampur.

The oath ceremony was also attended by Chairperson, District Development Council Reasi, Saraf Singh Nag, Principal District & Session Judge Udhampur, Y.P Bourney, SSP Udhampur, Vinod Kumar, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Mohammad Syed Khan, President Beopar Mandal Association Udhampur, Secretary Associated Chamber of Commerce and President Bar Association Udhampur.

As per the provisions of the Consumer Protection Act passed by the Parliament, District Consumer Redressal Commissions are established for timely and effective settlement of consumers’ disputes.

The Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission can entertain complaints related to overcharging or deceptive charging, unfair or restrictive trade practices, sale of hazardous goods and services and sale of defective goods. These District Commissions are now authorized to entertain consumer complaints having value up to Rs 1 crore against the earlier limit of Rs 20.00 lakh.