World no Tobacco Day GCW Udhampur, Health Deptt organize debate competition

Publish Date : 28/02/2022

World no Tobacco Day

GCW Udhampur, Health Deptt organize debate competitionWorld no Tobacco Day  GCW Udhampur, Health Deptt organize debate competition

UDHAMPUR, FEBRUARY -28:– The debate and Literary Club of Government College for Women Udhampur, under the Convenor ship of Dr.Mool Raj (HOD Urdu) and in collaboration with Health Department Udhampur on Monday organised a debate competition in the College campus on the theme “Tobacco threat to our environment’ to commemorate the “World no Tobacco Day”.

Principal of the College, Prof. Minu Mahajan was the chief guest, while Dr. Mohammad Yasin, District health officer, Udhampur was guest of Honour and Dr.Arti Bharat Medical Officer PHC Garhi was the chief resource person on the occasion.

Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest laid stress on the vital role of women, especially in various roles they play i.e. as a mothers, sisters, daughters and wives in saving the members of the family from consumption of the alcohol and tobacco as they are more associated mentally, physically and emotionally with the each member of the family.

Dr. Mohammad Yasin emphasised on the need of role of will power, determination and counselling of the afflicted. He also stressed upon effects of passive smoking and suggested various ways to control it while addressing the students.

Dr. Arti Bharat, chief Resource person also shared her valuable views regarding the various life consuming diseases being caused by consumption of tobacco like cancer, Asthma, lung bronchitis, loss of memory, dearth of sexual desire etc.

Earlier, the programme began with the formal welcome by the convener of the committee. He welcomed all the dignitaries, participants and students and highlighted the bad effects of Tobacco consumption on the human body.

As many as 100 students, teachers and staff from the medical department were present. The competition was judged by Prof Sumita Rao, Dr Sumit Sharma and Prof Mushtaq Ahmed.

Vandana Sharma, Radhika Sharma and Pooja Devi of sem 1st, 3rd and 5th stood First, Second and third position respectively in debate competition, While other participants were honoured with consolation prizes.

The students were also provided refreshment by the medical department. The programme culminated with a formal vote of thanks by Prof. Yash Paul [HOD History], Member of debate and literary club.